BFF

We met in the third grade.  It happened this way. I was late getting out of school,  it was raining  and the lady who picked me up at the front gate was nowhere around.

I knew my way home though it was a long walk, I am  guessing in hindsight  around two miles.  An insurmountable  undertaking for such a small girl.   For a while   I waited for my ride at the  brick wall in front of the school  trying to sort my options; decide the best course to take in the event no one came for me. Giving up hope  and with no alternatives, I set out  walking.

Before long my sobs were audible and I didn’t hold back seeing no one around to come to my aide, a salty deluge of tears and rain swamped my eye glasses as I blindly stumbled along the  lonely journey.  Oh, it was a sad day and I let fly a host of taboo oaths berating the fate that had befallen me.  My shoes  filled with water  sloshing loudly with every step and soon they took on a life of their own  hungrily gnawing at the backs of my socks until  they were devoured  and blisters began to form  on the  pink flesh above my heels  prompting loud cries of suffering that  only the damned must endure.

Out of nothingness  a voice called out to wait.   Through my swollen eyes   I could  make out a distant figure barely visible through dense sheets of rain and I  called out to it with blubbering lips that I would and I stopped  in the downpour staring back at the vacuum  from which I had recently emerged. When the spectre took form I could make out big fists of brown  eyes dripping  large opals of water  from long lashes clinging  in  spidery leg fashion above an open mouth  smile that allowed  rain drops to spill directly onto large  pearls of teeth.  “Why are you crying?”.   I realized immediately that she was not aware of the severity of the situation.  “My ride didn’t come and I have to walk home in the rain”.  She took my hand and  walked with me.  Surely she was insane.  I asked how she would get  home from there.  Smiling, she proudly advised me that she knew her way everywhere and that she always walked wherever she needed to go.

Later my father drove her home which turned out to be another two miles in the oposite direction of the school.  My  water sprite turned my catastrophe into an adventure.  Since then, we  make ourselves available if one should find themselves caught in the rain.

Dedicated to Barbara

85 thoughts on “BFF

  1. Beautiful story 🙂 I met my BFF in the first grade and since then we are almost everywhere together. Unfortunatelly, this summer she will move to London, to her mother. I know I will miss her, but this is life 😦 Right?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a beautiful tale of a new friend who showed courage and kindness. I am so happy Barbara was there for you, Holly. ♡ I am sure that you made up for this favor over the years, more than making up for the sacrifice of walking 2 miles out of her way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Meg Sorick, Writer

"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars." - Oscar Wilde

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Jamie L. Dyson

One of the monkeys with a typewriter

Blase'

My heart, mind and soul...transcribed!

scottishmomus

What I See

cakeordeathsite

What would you choose?

inkyfire

ink of love in fire - design is my desire

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

RamJet Poetry

"The ring leader of the mob will soonest be admitted into the councils of state" - Henry David Thoreau

Cloud Walker

Your mind is a garden, your thoughts are seeds. You can grow flowers or you can grow weeds.

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

Eltiempohabitado's Weblog

Blog de Julie Sopetrán. Poesía para niños y adultos.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

EWIAN

Independent audiovideo artist

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

IHRA

The best in WWII aviation history

theshivasponder

For Me, You and Everyone

Notes to self

... people, places, stories

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Book to the Future

More book than a mad 'orse

Poeta da Garrafa

Este sítio expõem a palavra, a imagem, a voz da minha poesia. Foto: Odilon Machado de Lourenço.

TOKIDOKI (NOMAD)

a world travel photo blog by Jackie Hadel

marina kanavaki

Art Towards a Happy Day [painting - illustration - design]

Oil Pastels by Mary

Painting with oil pastels

reviewdonkey

My personal opinions about.......stuff (as if you care!)

Mussab Tariq

writing is the painting of voice

harbin77

Just posting my thoughts, pictures and the link below is my sons web site

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

Buy a few of my books and live forever.

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

Deine Christine!

...mein altes, neues Leben mit MS...

Glamorous Without The Guilt

To accomplish great things we must dream as well as act

Arte y denuncia

Manifiesto de consciencia artístico

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

dithyrambs & ditties

dionysian obsessions and less dramatic digressions

Blue Hour Photo Workshops

Photography is a constant travel to new places

S. K. Nicholas

@myredabyss.com

Treasure and Bliss

A very slow person in a very modern world.

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

Heart Breathings

"Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart." William Wordsworth

Its PH

The daily reads and writes

Teacher as Transformer

Education, Leadership, Life, and Transformation

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

