the Park

Part I

The man seemed out of place, standing by the water in a frayed sweater, well-worn shoes, an impressive attaché. I had noticed him there every day for the past week.   Inexplicably,  on this day  I followed him, was actually  close enough to reach out and touch his shoulder. He turned towards me and smiled, his eyes were deep set, the pupils wide portals that gathered the autumn colors,  dilated pits of shadow even in the midday sun  centered in  glacial irises that softened when he smiled.  Sepia outlines against the landscape we stood together watching a swan, graceful ballerina, glaze the water slowly leaving no sign of a wake. So intrigued by this fated figure  I could not resist sitting  beside him.  He reached into the briefcase and offered me an apple, barely suppressing my smile at the irony, I took the apple though I was not hungry.    I fought the temptation to arrange his unkempt hair and run my fingers over his unshaven cheek. I had the unsettling suspicion that he knew what I was thinking.  We talked about how quickly summer had passed and the beauty of the fall leaves.  Suddenly serious he confided that he came to the park to kill time, that he had lost his job and his lover had fallen to the irresistible lure of the black dog.  As though I were listening in on a private conversation  I felt overwhelmed, resisting the urge to take his hand.  I sensed the danger and instinctively pulled away and unceremoniously stood up to leave.  He asked me if I would return.  With no intention to do so I told him I would come back.

Part II

Haunted by the  unorthodox stranger and somehow sensing  impending peril  I  was unable to sleep,  finally giving into  sleeping pills with a sip of water. Eventually falling into a state of suspended consciousness only to waken drenched from an  erotic dream.  I cursed softly and found my way to the bathroom in the dark to avoid disturbing his sound sleep.   At dinner I considered telling him about the man, even going so far as to  mention how inexplicably drawn I felt  but refrained, bewildered at its  significance;  not wanting to  explain it.  In the bathroom I stood under the shower, letting the cool water spill softly over my face and down my throat,  cupping my breasts, imagining his  elegant hands upon my body.   Back in bed, I  closed my eyes tasting the salty tears that slid from them.  Drifting off  I promised myself I  would  forget about the encounter at the park, never go back there.

Part 111

From the window that overlooked the rolling slopes across the way, I saw him, his hair tousled in the breeze. I  tried to look away but was compelled to observe  his every move   outlined against the grass, the long stride along the path leading to the lake, I  settled my view on his silhouette and the glow of sun on his tanned face. Tossing my sweater across my shoulders I  hurried along the path toward him.  His eyes lit when he caught sight of me, gleaming as brightly as the clear blue sky.  We sat on the bench beneath the large birch tree that came alive with bird song.  We were destined,  surely as the sea meets the shore and my subconscious began to vibrate for him and that for a smear of time  kept him sane and grounded,  loves tender sentiment. Retrospectively I knew exactly when he began to slip away and there was no way to hold it back.

Since our death I haven’t been the same.  Washing pills with cognac,  my world a  void of absence. He is at a loss, doing all he can to bring me  back,  feeling I may  dissipate like card ice.  I have fallen out of love but haven’t the heart to tell him.  How angry he would be if he knew of the man in the park, of the very marrow of life that  we shared without shame.  I must be ashamed, my face feels hot whenever I think of him and when I allow myself to wake, I am  a whirl wind of wild emotion sinking back into drug induced amnesia  where my shell  remains a possession of suffering.

Part IV

The earth is stripped of its color.  Where is the sun that burned liked fire?  The park is blanketed with  ice,  brittle branches offer bleak shelter to the silent birds,  their wings pulled sharply against their skeletons.    A woman tugs her coat against the wind, its rough threads guarding a lifeless heart.  Her eyes are dead things, no longer vibrant,  reflecting   the grey clouds.  She is caught in the shadow of the park where   a sparrow falls lifeless  to the snow. She is lost,  unable to find her way among the snow banks. Somehow she welcomes the sorrow, the pain that reminds her she is still alive.

A winter park bench. © Colline Kook-Chun

61 thoughts on “the Park

  1. Holly, I want more…a different ending…a tryst that ends up lasting forever. I want to know who he is and if they were together in a different time and place. I don’t want her to be an empty husk because she didn’t take a chance that was right in front of her. Truly great story that seriously left me wanting another chapter.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: the Park | ' Ace Friends News '

Leave a Reply

Meg Sorick, Writer

"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars." - Oscar Wilde

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Jamie L. Dyson

One of the monkeys with a typewriter

scottishmomus

What I See

cakeordeathsite

What would you choose?

inkyfire

ink of love in fire - design is my desire

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

RamJet Poetry

"The ring leader of the mob will soonest be admitted into the councils of state" - Henry David Thoreau

Cloud Walker

Your mind is a garden, your thoughts are seeds. You can grow flowers or you can grow weeds.

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

Eltiempohabitado's Weblog

Blog de Julie Sopetrán. Poesía para niños y adultos.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

EWIAN

Independent audiovideo artist

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

IHRA

The best in WWII aviation history

theshivasponder

For Me, You and Everyone

Notes to self

... people, places, stories

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Book to the Future

More book than a mad 'orse

Poeta da Garrafa

Este sítio expõem a palavra, a imagem, a voz da minha poesia. Foto: Odilon Machado de Lourenço.

TOKIDOKI (NOMAD)

a world travel photo blog by Jackie Hadel

marina kanavaki

Art Towards a Happy Day [painting - illustration - design]

Oil Pastels by Mary

Painting with oil pastels

reviewdonkey

My personal opinions about.......stuff (as if you care!)

Mussab Tariq

writing is the painting of voice

harbin77

Just posting my thoughts, pictures and the link below is my sons web site

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

Buy a few of my books and live forever.

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

Deine Christine!

...mein altes, neues Leben mit MS...

Glamorous Without The Guilt

To accomplish great things we must dream as well as act

Arte y denuncia

Manifiesto de consciencia artístico

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

dithyrambs & ditties

dionysian obsessions and less dramatic digressions

Blue Hour Photo Workshops

Photography is a constant travel to new places

S. K. Nicholas

@myredabyss.com

Treasure and Bliss

A very slow person in a very modern world.

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

Heart Breathings

"Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart." William Wordsworth

Its PH

The daily reads and writes

Teacher as Transformer

Education, Leadership, Life, and Transformation

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

