a little Noir

We have been driving for hours. The relentless tedium   transforms monotony into a restless frenzy of short-tempered barbs and endless cigarettes lit one  from the other.  Pulling off the freeway, his  eyes are red spheres piercing the  slippery ribbon of highway, squinting  through streams of rain that slip around the wipers and drift into  his periphery, metronomes swinging from the rear view mirror to the road ahead.

Searching the dial for swing all  I retrieve is jazz,  giving up I listen to “Cottontail”, settle back  with my feet on the dashboard. He adjusts his  fedora , relieving his eyes with the godsend of legs propped  to the right of him.  I smile knowingly and look away, deliberately hiking  the hem of my skirt. He allows himself the luxury of a brief fantasy, quietly marveling at graceful arches and cattail limbs while I soothe myself with thoughts of  my take of the stash in the ratty brown suitcase cleverly camouflaged beneath old coats. We  both enjoy the brief reprieve from reality.

Spotting a neon sign,  he backs off the pedal and swerves down a side road to a cheap motel. Rushing to escape the downpour we slam the door behind us. I  remove my  shoes, sit at the flimsy dresser and apply fresh makeup, brush a blizzard of  platinum hair.  Leaning in to  him  I   press  my  breast against his shoulder  and with a  throaty sigh,   “fix me a drink, will you baby?”.

At the edge of the bed I slither from my slip, a smoky eyed toy in stilettos,  droplets sweat from my glass and pool in the hollow of my midriff  inviting the titillation of his tongue. Tortuously unbuttoning his shirt,  his breath is a hot prayer and he  lingers in all the right places,  precise and voracious.

Before daylight he is on the road again.  Rain still flickers at the windows, streaks of  red flames, reflection of  city lights. The world is asleep, unaware of the fire. The streets are empty but for a young whore sleeping in a doorway.    In the pink blush of dawn he is gray and bruised, repeating again and again there was no  other option. Burned into his, her lifeless eyes gazing into a different galaxy.  His hand throbs, slamming the  steering wheel. Dumb broad, she should have known she was not here for the long haul.

65 thoughts on “a little Noir

  1. Finally, I get to write…it’s taken me ages to be able to get to this box, so you know my computer isn’t any better. Anyway, this is wonderful, Holly. A pleasure to read. Sorry, I haven’t been leaving as many comments but it’s so difficult right now…the Reader is a mess. Love your work, and you know that. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. See, now I got to you through your comment to me. No problem. I can’t do it through the reader. This is amazing…LOL I can type and write to you immediately but only when you show up on my email. Hope all is well. We are freezing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved it. You captured the spirit of the genre spot-on. I’m a sucker for pools of liquid collecting in midriff hollows. (Hmm, great name for a community of decadence: Midriff Hollows. ) 🙂 best —CC

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Meg Sorick, Writer

"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars." - Oscar Wilde

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Jamie L. Dyson

One of the monkeys with a typewriter

scottishmomus

What I See

cakeordeathsite

What would you choose?

inkyfire

ink of love in fire - design is my desire

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

RamJet Poetry

"The ring leader of the mob will soonest be admitted into the councils of state" - Henry David Thoreau

Cloud Walker

Your mind is a garden, your thoughts are seeds. You can grow flowers or you can grow weeds.

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

Eltiempohabitado's Weblog

Blog de Julie Sopetrán. Poesía para niños y adultos.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

EWIAN

Independent audiovideo artist

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

IHRA

The best in WWII aviation history

theshivasponder

For Me, You and Everyone

Notes to self

... people, places, stories

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Book to the Future

More book than a mad 'orse

Poeta da Garrafa

Este sítio expõem a palavra, a imagem, a voz da minha poesia. Foto: Odilon Machado de Lourenço.

TOKIDOKI (NOMAD)

a world travel photo blog by Jackie Hadel

marina kanavaki

Art Towards a Happy Day [painting - illustration - design]

Oil Pastels by Mary

Painting with oil pastels

reviewdonkey

My personal opinions about.......stuff (as if you care!)

Mussab Tariq

writing is the painting of voice

harbin77

Just posting my thoughts, pictures and the link below is my sons web site

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

Buy a few of my books and live forever.

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

Deine Christine!

...mein altes, neues Leben mit MS...

Glamorous Without The Guilt

To accomplish great things we must dream as well as act

Arte y denuncia

Manifiesto de consciencia artístico

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

dithyrambs & ditties

dionysian obsessions and less dramatic digressions

Blue Hour Photo Workshops

Photography is a constant travel to new places

S. K. Nicholas

@myredabyss.com

Treasure and Bliss

A very slow person in a very modern world.

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

Heart Breathings

"Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart." William Wordsworth

Its PH

The daily reads and writes

Teacher as Transformer

Education, Leadership, Life, and Transformation

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

